Languages —

Tuesday, September 26, 2023


    Bayern Munich wins their 11th consecutive German title when Borussia Dortmund fails at home.

    Share This Post

    Bayern Munich won their 11th consecutive German Bundesliga title on Saturday after Borussia Dortmund lost to Mainz at home.

    Dortmund led the Bundesliga by two points going into the last game of the season. They needed a win over Mainz at Signal Iduna Park, but Dortmund blew multiple chances, allowing Bayern Munich to take the championship.

    Andreas Hanche-Olsen of Mainz opened the scoring at Dortmund in the 15th minute with a header from a corner kick.

    Sebastien Haller of Borussia Dortmund then missed a penalty attempt.

    Mainz extended their advantage in the 24th minute.
    Karim Onisiwo, a Mainz attacker, was unmarked in the box and scored his team’s second goal with a header.

    The visitors led the first half 2-0.

    Dortmund had to wait much too long for a goal. Raphael Guerreiro, a Portuguese midfielder, performed a one-two with Giovanni Reyna before scoring in the area to give Borussia Dortmund hope.

    Near the conclusion of the game, defender Niklas Sule equalised, but it was not enough to win the championship as Bayern Munich triumphed 2-1 at Cologne after Jamal Musiala’s goal at Rhein Energie Stadium.

    Bayern Munich and Dortmund finished the 34-game Bundesliga season with 71 points apiece, but Bayern Munich won the German title on goal difference.

    After the final whistle, players from Borussia Dortmund erupted into tears.

    The stadium’s fans were disappointed, but they commended Borussia Dortmund for their efforts throughout the 2022-23 season, which they finished as runners-up.

    Meanwhile, Bayern players celebrated their triumph in Cologne, and the Bundesliga trophy was presented to them.

    Bayern Munich has won 33 Bundesliga titles since its inception in 1900.

    Share This Post