Languages —

Tuesday, June 18, 2024


    England announces their first EURO 2024 roster; Rashford, Henderson, and Sterling are absent.

    Share This Post

    Notable players were left off the roster as England manager Gareth Southgate revealed the preliminary team for the European Championship (UEFA EURO 2024) on Tuesday.

    England’s initial lineup for the summer’s EURO 2024, which starts in June in Germany, was revealed on Instagram.

    Southgate did not choose Chelsea winger Raheem Sterling, Ajax midfielder Jordan Henderson, or Manchester United attacker Marcus Rashford.

    Furthermore, the Three Lions’ original squad did not feature striker Jadon Sancho of Borussia Dortmund.

    Anthony Gordon of Newcastle United appears to have benefited from Rashford and Sterling’s absence, as he might win his third cap for England.

    In addition, at 33 years old, it may be Henderson’s final opportunity to don the national team uniform.

    Adam Wharton, a teenage midfielder for Crystal Palace, may have made his first international debut as a result of his drop-off.

    The other uncapped players in the preliminary team are Burnley goalkeeper James Trafford, Everton’s Jarrad Branthwaite, and Liverpool’s Curtis Jones and Jarell Quansah.

    The runners-up for EURO 2020, England, announced that on June 8 they will unveil their final 26-man team for EURO 2024.

    The tentative England team is as follows:

    Goalkeepers: James Trafford (Burnley), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), Jordan Pickford (Everton), and Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace).

    defenders: Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Jarell Quansah (Liverpool), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Jarrad Branthwaite (Everton), Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), and Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

    Midfielders: Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), and Curtis Jones (Liverpool).

    Among the forwards are Jude Bellingham from Real Madrid, Jarrod Bowen from West Ham, Eberechi Eze from Crystal Palace, Phil Foden from Manchester City, Jack Grealish from Manchester City, Anthony Gordon from Newcastle, Harry Kane from Bayern Munich, James Maddison from Tottenham, Cole Palmer from Chelsea, Bukayo Saka from Arsenal, Ivan Toney from Brentford, and Ollie Watkins from Aston Villa.

    Share This Post