Languages —

Sunday, April 21, 2024


    Erling Haaland of Manchester City has been selected UEFA Men’s Player of the Year.

    Share This Post

    Somali Magazine 1 September 2023- Erling Haaland of Manchester City was awarded the 2022-23 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year on Thursday.

    Haaland defeated teammate Kevin De Bruyne and former Paris Saint-Germain star Lionel Messi.

    “I am humbled and honoured to have been named UEFA Men’s Player of the Year,” the 23-year-old stated. “With so many top talents across Europe who could have won this award, I am extremely grateful to everyone who voted for me.”

    In the 2022-23 season, Haaland helped Man City win the UEFA Champions League, the English Premier League championship, and the FA Cup, completing the “Famous Treble” of winning a domestic title, a domestic cup, and a European cup in the same season.

    Guardiola has been crowned Men’s Coach of the Year.

    Pep Guardiola, the head coach of Manchester City, was awarded the UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year for 2022-23.

    “Congratulations to Pep and his staff on winning this award, a well-deserved recognition for an incredible season,” said Txiki Begiristain, the English club’s director of football.

    “To win three trophies was extraordinary, and to lift the Champions League trophy for the first time was such a special moment,” he continued.

    Since joining Manchester City in 2016, Guardiola has won 15 major trophies, including five Premier League crowns, one UEFA Super Cup, two FA Cups, four League Cups, one Champions League, and two Community Shields.

    Share This Post