Languages —

Friday, July 19, 2024


    Spain wins the UEFA Nations League in 2023 on penalties.

    Share This Post

    Spain won the 2023 UEFA Nations League on penalties, defeating Croatia 5-4.

    Because neither team could break the deadlock in regular or extra time, the final was decided on penalties at Rotterdam’s Feyenoord Stadium.

    Croatia won the penalty shootout with to goals from Nikola Vlasic, Marcelo Brozovic, Luka Modric, and Ivan Perisic.

    Unai Simon, the Spanish custodian, saved penalties from Lovro Majer and Bruno Petkovic.

    Spain’s scorers were Joselu, Rodri, Mikel Merino, Marco Asensio, and Dani Carvajal.

    Aymeric Laporte was the only Spaniard to miss a penalty shootout, shooting a powerful shot that hit the crossbar.

    Following Petkovic’s mistake, Carvajal struck a stunning penalty to give Spain the win in the 2023 final.

    Spain, UEFA EURO 1964, 2008, and 2012 champions, added another UEFA trophy to their collection.

    For the first time, Spain won the Nations League.

    Croatia brought home a silver medal.

    The Nations League, UEFA’s biennial international football competition, was previously won by Portugal in 2019 and France in 2021.

    Share This Post