Languages —

Tuesday, June 18, 2024


    This season, the English Premier League set a new record with 13 manager sackings.

    Share This Post

    The English Premier League, Europe’s most prestigious competition, has experienced the most sackings in a single season in 2022-23, with clubs changing managers over a dozen times.

    Chelsea stated on Sunday that they had fired Graham Potter, 47, following disappointing results, making him the 13th managerial departure this season. Brendan Rodgers, 50, was fired by Leicester City on the same day.

    Website for German football statistics According to Transfermarkt, English teams fired their managers 13 times during the current 2022-23 Premier League season, setting a new record.

    Scott Parker (Bournemouth), Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea), Graham Potter (Brighton & Hove Albion, and Chelsea), Bruno Lage (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Steven Gerrard (Aston Villa), Ralph Hasenhuttl (Southampton), Frank Lampard (Everton), Jesse Marsch (Leeds United), Nathan Jones (Southampton), Patrick Vieira (Crystal Palace), Antonio Conte (Tottenham Hotspur) (Leicester City).

    Potter, who was previously the manager of Chelsea, was dismissed twice this season. He was already fired by Brighton in September of last year.

    The previous record in the English Premier League was ten in-season sackings in five seasons during the last 30 years: 2021-22, 2017-18, 2013-14, 2008-09, and 1994-95.

    During the 2017-18 season, when Manchester City won the English title, ten managers were fired, while five others resigned after the season.

    Premier League managers sacked this season

    1. Scott Parker (Bournemouth): Aug. 30, 2022

    2. Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea): Sept. 7, 2022

    3. Graham Potter (Brighton & Hove Albion): Sept. 7, 2022

    4. Bruno Lage (Wolverhampton Wanderers): Oct. 2, 2022

    5. Steven Gerrard (Aston Villa): Oct. 20, 2022

    6. Ralph Hasenhuttl (Southampton): Nov. 7, 2022

    7. Frank Lampard (Everton): Jan. 23, 2023

    8. Jesse Marsch (Leeds United): Feb. 6, 2023

    9. Nathan Jones (Southampton): Feb. 12, 2023

    10. Patrick Vieira (Crystal Palace): March 17, 2023

    11. Antonio Conte (Tottenham Hotspur): March 26, 2023

    12. Brendan Rodgers (Leicester City): April 2, 2023

    13. Graham Potter (Chelsea): April 2, 2023

    Share This Post