Languages —

Tuesday, September 26, 2023


    Turkey declares seven days of mourning following catastrophic earthquakes

    Share This Post

    After fatal earthquakes struck multiple southern districts, Turkey will observe seven days of national mourning, President Recep Tayyip Erdogan said on Monday.

    Our nation entered a seven-day period of mourning as a result of the earthquakes that occurred on February 6. On Sunday, February 12, all of our national and international representations will fly our flag at half-staff until dusk, Erdogan announced on Twitter.

    Two powerful earthquakes that shook southern Turkey on Monday resulted in at least 1,651 fatalities and 11,119 injuries in 10 regions.

    An earthquake measuring 7.7 on the Richter scale struck Kahramanmaras early on Monday and caused significant shaking in a number of nearby provinces, including Gaziantep, Sanliurfa, Diyarbakir, Adana, Adiyaman, Malatya, Osmaniye, Hatay, and Kilis.

    Later, a 7.6 magnitude earthquake with a center in Kahramanmaras rocked the area at 13.24 p.m. (10.24 GMT).

    Share This Post