Languages —

Monday, July 15, 2024


    Manchester City will face Sevilla in the 48th UEFA Super Cup.

    Share This Post

    On Wednesday, Manchester City will face Sevilla in the 48th UEFA Super Cup.

    Sky Blues, winners of the UEFA Champions League in 2023, will face Los Palanganas, winners of the UEFA Europa League in 2023, in the Georgios Karaiskakis Stadium in Piraeus, Greece.

    Man City will compete in their first Super Cup final, while Sevilla, who has lost five Super Cup finals, will compete for their second prize.

    Real Madrid and Barcelona of Spain, as well as AC Milan of Italy, hold the record for the most wins in La Liga, having won the championship five times apiece.

    Barcelona has lost four Super Cup finals, Real Madrid three times, and AC Milan twice.

    Spanish teams have won the Super Cup in 10 of the past 14 years. Real Madrid won four titles (2014, 2016, 2017, and 2022), whereas Barcelona (2009, 2011, and 2015) and Atletico Madrid (2010, 2012, and 2018) each won three.

    Galatasaray became the first and only Turkish club to win the UEFA Super Cup in 2000.

    The Lions defeated Real Madrid 2-1 in the final on August 25, 2000, thanks to Mario Jardel’s “golden goal” after normal and extra time finished 1-1 at the Stade Louis II in Monaco.

    The UEFA Super Cup is an annual tournament between the champions of the previous season’s UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League.

    Share This Post