Languages —

Tuesday, March 21, 2023


    Putin submits to parliament draft law on admission of 4 Ukrainian regions to Russian Federation: Report

    Share This Post

    According to state media, Russian President Vladimir Putin on Sunday submitted a draught constitutional law to parliament that would admit the Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson, and Zaporizhzhia regions of Ukraine to the Russian Federation.

    The four annexation regions’ parliamentary elections will take place in September 2023 on a single election day, according to the Russian state media.

    The Ukrainian hryvnia will be usable up until December 31, according to the report, even though the ruble has been designated as the regional currency.

    Additionally, a set of documents regarding the admission of the self-declared Donetsk People’s Republic (DPR), Luhansk People’s Republic (LPR), as well as the Kherson and Zaporizhzhia regions to Russia was approved by the Constitutional Court of Russia.

    Vladimir Putin, the president of Russia, announced the annexation of four regions of Ukraine on Friday.

    The Russian-controlled portions of Zaporizhzhia and Kherson, as well as the separatist regions of Donetsk and Luhansk in Ukraine, held referendums on joining Russia from September 23 to 27.

    The international community has denounced the referendums, with the US and European countries labelling them a “sham” and declaring that they will not be recognised.

    Share This Post