Languages —

Saturday, December 3, 2022


    A parliamentary committee selects a chairman and chooses May 15 as the date for the presidential election.

    Share This Post

    Following a vote in Mogadishu on Thursday, Senator Abdiqani Gelle Mohamed was elected chairman of the Joint Presidential Election Parliamentary Committee.

    Senator Abdiqani received 10 votes, whereas MP Mohamed Ahmed Beerey received five and Senator Abdi Ismael Samatar received two.

    Meanwhile, after defeating Mohamed Ibrahim Moalimow, MP Mohamed Kerow Mohamed was elected as the deputy committee with nine votes. In the third round of voting, the latter garnered seven votes.

    The vote was attended by Ali Shabaan Ibrahim, the First Deputy Speaker of the Upper House, MP Abdullahi Omar Abshirow, the Second Deputy Speaker of the House of People, MP Abdullahi Omar Abshirow, and the two Secretaries of Parliament.

    The committee’s first task will be to select the date for the presidential election, which will take place as early as mid-May.

    329 Parliamentarians from both Houses of Parliament will elect Somalia’s 10th President. The incumbent, President Farmajo, was elected in a similar indirect poll in February 2017. His official mandate expired in February 2021.

    Share This Post