Languages —

Thursday, May 30, 2024


    Turkish President Erdogan introduces his new Cabinet.

    Share This Post

    Recep Tayyip Erdogan announced Turkey’s new Cabinet on Saturday at the Cankaya Palace in Ankara, after being inaugurated in as president in parliament.

    The following are the members of the new Cabinet:

    Justice Minister: Yilmaz Tunc

    Family and Social Services Minister: Mahinur Ozdemir Goktas

    Labor and Social Security Minister: Vedat Isikhan

    Environment, Urbanization, and Climate Change Minister: Mehmet Ozhaseki

    Foreign Minister: Hakan Fidan

    Energy and Natural Resources Minister: Alparslan Bayraktar

    Youth and Sports Minister: Osman Askin Bak

    Treasury and Finance Minister: Mehmet Simsek

    Interior Minister: Ali Yerlikaya

    Culture and Tourism Minister: Mehmet Nuri Ersoy

    National Education Minister: Yusuf Tekin

    National Defense Minister: Yasar Guler

    Health Minister: Fahrettin Koca

    Industry and Technology Minister: Mehmet Fatih Kacir

    Agriculture and Forestry Minister: Ibrahim Yumakli

    Trade Minister: Omer Bolat

    Transport and Infrastructure Minister: Abdulkadir Uraloglu

    Erdogan also announced that Cevdet Yilmaz is his pick for vice president.

    Turkey went to the polls on May 28 for a presidential runoff since no contender received more than 50% of the votes required for an outright victory in the first round on May 14.

    According to official figures, Erdogan received 52.18% of the vote, while opposition candidate Kemal Kilicdaroglu received 47.82%.

    Also on May 13, Erdogan’s Justice and Development (AK) Party emerged as the largest party in parliament, with 268 seats.

    In addition to the AK Party, its People’s Alliance partners, the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) and the New Welfare Party (YRP), gained 50 and five seats, respectively, for a total of 323 seats out of 600 in parliament.

    The Republican People’s Party (CHP) and its coalition partner, the Good (IYI) Party, received a total of 212 seats in parliament, representing the main opposition Nation’s Alliance, with 169 MPs each.

    The Labour and Freedom Alliance, comprised of the Green Left Party with 61 seats and the Türkiye Labour Party (TIP) with four, gained the remaining 65 seats in parliament.

    Share This Post