Languages —

Friday, July 19, 2024


    UAE, Qatar, Somalia, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States release a joint declaration on Somalia.

    Share This Post

    Representatives from the UAE, Qatar, Somalia, Turkey, the UK, and the US gathered in Washington, D.C. to discuss Somalia’s security, state-building, development, and humanitarian priorities.

    The partners backed the Federal Government of Somalia’s emphasis on counterterrorism and capacity creation. They addressed how to better support Somalia’s fight against al-Shabaab and prepare for the withdrawal of the African Union Transition Mission in Somalia, and they decided to increase international security aid cooperation.

    Allies agreed that early delivery of stabilization aid to freshly liberated areas was critical. They pledged to assisting Somalia in meeting the standards for weapon and ammunition management in order for the UN Security Council to fully lift the Federal Government of Somalia’s arms controls.

    The partners encourage and support Somalia’s National Consultative Council (NCC) process in encouraging political reconciliation and delineating the duties and responsibilities of Somalia’s tiers of government, including drafting the constitution.

    The partners underlined their worry over the ongoing conflict in and around Lascanood and urged all sides to respect the ceasefire, de-escalate, allow unimpeded humanitarian access, and engage in constructive and peaceful discussion.

    They also expressed concern about the continued humanitarian crisis in Somalia, which has been exacerbated by the country’s worst drought on record. They welcomed assistance from foreign players to fulfill the Somali people’s immediate needs while also boosting Somalia’s ability to weather future climate shocks.

    The parties decided to continue working in these areas and to meet again in Doha, Qatar, in three months for continued discussions and to assess progress.

    Share This Post