Languages —

Monday, July 22, 2024


    Ukraine’s president has sanctioned 178 Russian people.

    Share This Post

    Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy accepted a request by the country’s National Security and Defence Council on Sunday to penalise 178 Russian persons, including 81 Ukrainian citizens.

    According to the decree, which was published on the Ukrainian presidency’s website, the decision was made to support suggestions made by the country’s Security Service about the “application and introduction of changes to personal special economic and other restrictive measures.”

    The decree’s limits are in effect for five years and include measures such as asset freezing and restrictions on commercial activities and transit via Ukrainian territory.

    “The Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine, together with the Security Service of Ukraine and the National Bank of Ukraine, shall ensure the implementation and monitoring of the effectiveness of personal special economic and other restrictive measures (sanctions),” the order stated.

    It also directed the Ukrainian Foreign Ministry to notify “the competent authorities of the EU, US, and other states about the application of sanctions and to raise with them the issue of introducing similar restrictive measures.”

    Last month, Zelenskyy slapped sanctions on 51 persons and 220 organisations associated with Russia’s and Belarus’ transportation, communication, and industrial sectors.

    Share This Post